Mayor & City Council


Time: 6:30 p.m.

Date: Second and fourth Tuesdays of every month

Place: Council Chambers, City Hall, 222 Lewis Street, River Falls, Wisconsin

Meetings are open to the public. They are recorded and shown on RFC-TV, River Falls Community Television Channel 16. View City Council meetings online.

2018 River Falls City Council

River Falls City Council, left to right: Sean Downing, Christopher Gagne, Scott Morrissette, Mayor Dan Toland, Diane Odeen, Todd Bjerstedt, Michael Page, and Hal Watson


There are seven alderpersons who are elected in the spring election to the council: one member from each of the four aldermanic districts, three at large, and one mayor.

Duties & Mission

The Mayor and City Council are the governing body for the City of River Falls. The Common Council Bylaws regulate the business of the City Council by clarifying or summarizing City ordinances and policies, or guiding the City Council in municipal matters. Except as otherwise provided by law, the City Council shall have the management and control of the city property, finances, highways, streets, utilities, and the public service. The Council may act for the government and good order of the city, for its commercial benefit, and for the health, safety, welfare, and convenience of the public.


The Council may carry its powers into effect by license, regulation, suppression, borrowing, taxation, special assessment, appropriation, imposition, of forfeiture and other necessary or convenient means.


For more information, check out the Public Resources and Transparency pages.

State of the City

Annually, the City Council receives a State of the City address. The address highlights City happenings from the previous year. In 2012, the address began to be produced in a video format that highlighted major accomplishments supporting the established organizational goals. View the 2017 State of the City.